My makeup collection and declutter

I’m not much of a makeup person and so my collection currently consists of only 38 items. Despite this, before my first makeup declutter, I had over 100 items! Of course, the majority of which I never used. And so, since I don’t use makeup very often I thought that I’d do another purge since there are still a few pieces that just sit there and never get used.

11 Jun 2017 Update: I’m not sure what happened to my photos but they no longer exist on this post. Nor do they exist anywhere else, because being minimal I didn’t see the need to keep them on my computer once I had written this. Oh well, I’ve taken another photo of the makeup I currently own. There’re some eyelash curlers which weren’t there before. Pretty exciting stuff. Anyway, I doubt people see such old posts, but just in case here’s the (overly long) explanation of why there’s only one photo. xo

Bronzer

IMG_5041
Yes, this is an eye shadow, but when I did use it, I used it as a bronzer. I don’t need two bronzers and since I don’t reach for this one I know that it’s time for it to go. That’s one non cruelty free product out of my collection.

Eye shadow

IMG_5046.jpg
This takes several layers to get good coverage, which means that I don’t tend to use it. I couldn’t find any information on whether this company is cruelty free or not.

Blush

IMG_5047.jpg
I use to use this a lot (as you can probably tell), but I haven’t touched it in over a year. Since it’s basically finished I decided to get rid of it. Also, this blush is by AVON, who are not cruelty free.

Eyeliner

IMG_5043.jpg
This is a bit rough on my eyes and I prefer pen eyeliners compared to pencil ones. Rimmel London is also not cruelty free, so I’m glad to get this one out of my collection.

Eyebrow pen

IMG_5044.jpg
I’ve had this for so long that the pen has actually dried out, therefore I’m throwing it out.

Lip balm

IMG_5050.jpg

This lip balm smells great, but it tends to just sit on my lips rather than get absorbed. Also, this contains beeswax making it not suitable for vegans. I have another lip balm, which I prefer and I also use coconut oil so I decided to get rid of this one.

Nail varnish

IMG_5042

I’m not a huge fan of how the blue looks on my nails and the purple doesn’t suit my style. The purple varnish is by Marks & Spencer so is cruelty free, however, I’m not sure what brand the blue one is.

That’s eight products that I’ve declutter, including 3 which are definitely not cruelty free. And so, my makeup collection now consists of 30 items and this is what it looks like:

IMG_5497.jpg

Quite a few pieces, even if they’re not cruelty free/vegan, I’m keeping only because I know that I’ll eventually use them. So I’m sure in a few months to a year I’ll have an even smaller collection and by then it should be completely cruelty free!

I hope that you’ve found this interesting. And hopefully I’ve inspired you to do some decluttering of your own! xo

2 thoughts on “My makeup collection and declutter

Add yours

  1. I think my collection right now is about 15 items and 10 of them are lipbalm! I have been seriously considering getting my eyebrows and eyelashes dyed to reduce my consumption and save time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nail varnish is my weakness–I have loads yet don’t wear it that often! If you wear makeup a lot that would be so much better than going through all that plastic!! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

