My top 10 coconut oil uses

Coconut oil is incredibly versatile, and so it’s perfect for use in many of my day-to-day products. It also has an almost endless list of health benefits and it’s not just for eating. It has various other properties, which can improve the health of your mouth, skin and hair.

These are some of my favourite ways to use coconut oil.

Deep conditioner. I like to deep condition my hair about once a week to keep it soft and shiny. I do this by massaging coconut oil though my hair, brushing and then wrapping my hair in an old top. I leave it in over night and then wash it out in the morning.

Sugar scrub. This is beautifully moisturising and cleansing. I use it about 2-3 times a week for clear and smooth skin. I love it!

Shaving cream. Coconut oil is a great alternative to regular shaving cream. It prevents ingrown hairs and razor burns and keeps my legs silky smooth.

Moisturiser. If I notice that my skin is becoming a bit dry, I’ll massage a small amount of coconut oil over the dry areas. I leave it on for about 5-10 minutes before washing off any excess. This way, my skin benefits from the moisturising and nourishing properties of coconut oil, but doesn’t become oily.

Lip balm. My lips become dry and chapped easily and coconut oil has really improved their health and softness. It also tastes delicious.

Toothpaste. I like using a natural toothpaste since it is much better for the environment and my health.

Oil pulling. I like to swish a tablespoon of coconut oil around my mouth for 10-20 minutes each morning since this is said to keep gums healthy and give you fresh breath.

Deodorant. This four ingredient deodorant I use is effective, long-lasting and eco-friendly. I much prefer it to commercial deodorant since it’s cheap, fun to make and doesn’t contain any harmful ingredients.

Wound cream. I put coconut oil on cuts and scratches since its medium-chain fatty acids have medicinal properties. This means that they will help wounds heal faster. Also, since coconut oil has antibacterial and antifungal properties, these wounds stay free from infection.

Cooking. I often use coconut oil when frying or in baked goodies. This is because coconut oil can withstand high temperatures making it perfectly safe and one of the best oils for cooking. Also, just a few of its health benefits include: boosting your immune system; improving digestion; reducing the risk of heart disease and lowering blood pressure. It’s a must-have staple in your kitchen!


Bonus:

Treatment for pets. I’ve read quite a few articles about coconut oil and its benefits and I stumbled across one that suggested that coconut oil can be used to help cats with their digestion. One of my cats has a sensitive stomach and so I’ve started to place a small amount of coconut oil on her paw for her to lick off and I’m waiting with anticipation to see if it helps!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

