Lentil and mushroom soup recipe

img_4581

Soup is my go-to meal when I’m feeling too lazy to cook. It requires such little time and effort to make, yet is so delicious. And it lasts for about a week in the fridge so it is a great option for meal prepping.

Since canned mushroom soup isn’t vegan friendly, I decided to make one myself. I enjoy making my own version of already existing food, since you know what’s going into it, making it the healthier option, and it allows you to experiment with different ingredients. In this case, I wanted to add lentils to give the traditional mushroom soup a protein boost. Also, I used coconut milk to add a lovely creaminess to the soup.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 600g mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 400ml can full-fat coconut milk
  • 120g red-split lentils, rinsed
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • Salt and pepper

Instructions

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan.
  2. Add the mushrooms and leek and sauté for 5 minutes.
  3. Pour the coconut milk into the pan.
  4. Add the lentils and nutritional yeast and stir well.
  5. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the lentils are cooked.
  6. Season with salt and pepper to taste, then serve.

If you prefer to have smooth soup, feel free to blend it. I usually prefer a bit of texture in my soup which is why I leave it unblended.


Serves: 4
Preparation time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 25 minutes
Total time: 35 minutes

One thought on “Lentil and mushroom soup recipe

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

